Monday, May 1, 2017

Awesome Mix Vol 2 - Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2 Soundtrack

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2 Soundtrack

The music in Guardians of the Galaxy seemed made for the movie. Although many people probably wouldn't have recognized the titles, or perhaps even some of the artists, on Awesome Mix Vol. 1, those of us who grew up in the 80s remembered those songs. From the opening scene, which features "Come and Get Your Love" by Redbone, I knew I would love the soundtrack. At the end of the film, Peter Quill uncovered a new cassette from his mother, called "Awesome Mix Vol. 2"

Awesome Mix Vol. 2 is the soundtrack for the second film. The songs are meant to represent Meredith, Peter Quill's mom, and the music she loved enough to share with her son. This soundtrack includes songs from more recognizable performers, such as George Harrison, Fleetwood Mac, and ELO. I was glad to see a Cat Stevens song in the mix, since that's what I grew up listening to. The final song, "Guardians Inferno" which director James Gunn co-wrote, features vocals by David Hasselhoff, one of Quill's childhood heroes.

Here's the full track list from "Awesome Mix Vol. 2":

  1. "Mr. Blue Sky" by Electric Light Orchestra
  2. "Fox on the Run" by Sweet
  3. "Lake Shore Drive" by Aliotta Haynes Jeremiah 
  4. "The Chain" by Fleetwood Mac 
  5. "Bring it On Home to Me" by Sam Cooke
  6. "Southern Nights" by Glen Campbell
  7. "My Sweet Lord" by George Harrison
  8. "Brandy (You're a Fine Girl)" by Looking Glass
  9. "Come a Little Bit Closer" by Jay and the Americans
  10. "Wham Bam Shang-A-Lang" by Silver
  11. "Surrender" by Cheap Trick
  12. "Father and Son" by Cat Stevens / Yusuf Islam
  13. "Flash Light" by Parliament 
  14. "Guardians Inferno" by the Sneepers featuring David Hasselhoff 
"Awesome Mix Vol. 2" is available in stores now. Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2 arrives in theaters on May 5.

No comments:

Post a Comment